About Us

Business people discussing on a business meeting in the office.

Helping good market researchers get better.

Our mission is to offer global, market-leading continuing education programs for the practice of market research and insights. We pursue that mission by developing and delivering online courses designed to fulfill the core market research educational needs of individuals and companies worldwide. Our courses are written and continually updated by subject matter experts from across the research industry, and they are designed to meet the certification requirements of major national and international professional and industry associations.

A History of Service

MRII was founded in 1996 by a task force of the Marketing Research Association (MRA) charged with creating a non-profit organization to develop an independent study program based on the Marketing Research Core Body of Knowledge (MRCBOK©). A Board of Directors of industry leaders was formed to oversee the development of the Principles of Market Research in conjunction with the University of Georgia. In 1998, MRII, MRA, and the University of Georgia entered into an alliance with ESOMAR for the purpose of offering the course worldwide.

In 2006, MRII adapted the Principles of Market Research to reflect the specific needs of pharmaceutical market researchers and began offering Principles of Pharmaceutical Market Research. In 2014, it added a third course, Principles of Mobile Market Research.

Over time, the number of supporting associations has expanded to include the Council of American Survey Research Organizations (CASRO), the Advertising Research Foundation (ARF), the American Marketing Association (AMA), the Marketing Research and Intelligence Association (MRIA), the Pharmaceutical Marketing Research Group (PMRG), the Pharmaceutical Business Intelligence and Research Group (PBIRG), and the Terry College of Business at the University of Georgia.

MRII Board of Directors


Jeffrey Henning
Researchscape International
Michael Mermelstein
Nichols Research
Dan Coates
Ypulse, Inc.
Jon Last
Immediate Past President
Sports & Leisure Research Group


Pamela Bracken
University of Georgia, Center For Continuing Education
Lisa R. Courtade
Past President
Merck & Co., Inc.
Melanie Courtright
Research Now
Naomi Grewal, Ph.D.
Stephanie C. Harris
Strong-Bridge Consulting
Juliana Smith Holterhaus, Ph.D.
Jeffrey Hunter
Market Framework, Inc.
Paul Hunter
Miami University
Guido Lara
Jonathan Lepisto
Jackie Lorch
Survey Sampling International
William MacElroy, Ph.D.
Socratic Technologies
Kathy Millich
Sherri Neuwirth
Neuwirth Consulting LLC
Shelly Ray
MMR Research Associates
Ken Roberts
Cooper Roberts Research, Inc.
David Scowcroft, Ph.D.
Ipsos Healthcare – North America
Karen Scherbaum
Marjette Stark
Stark Solutions
Barry G. Watson, Ph.D.
Past President
Environics Research Group Ltd.
Bart Weiner
BW Consulting

Ex Officio Subject Matter Directors

Chuck Chakrapani, Ph.D.
Leger Marketing
Wayne McCullough, Ph.D.
Past President
Michigan State University
Charlotte Sibley
Past President
Sibley Associates, LLC
Julie Williams
Past President
Independent Consultant

Ex Officio Directors

David Almy
Insights Association
Denise Logan
University of Georgia, Center For Continuing Education
Marcus Cunha, Jr., Ph.D.
Terry College of Business University of Georgia
Kara Mitchelmore
Marketing Research and Intelligence Association (MRIA)
Finn Raben

Emeritus Directors

Chuck Dodson
Howard Gershowitz
Terry H. Grapentine
John Kelly
Ron Kornokovich
Robert B. Leiter, Ph.D.
Malcolm McNiven, Ph.D.
William Neal
Betsy Peterson


Reg Baker, Ph.D.
Executive Director
Market Research Institute International

Past Presidents
1996: Linda Tessar, Walker Research, Retired
1997: Howard Gershowitz, Mktg., Inc. (USA)
1998: Ron Kornokovich, OPINIONation, Retired
1999: Bill Neal, SDR, Inc., Retired
2000: Don Marek, AT&T, Retired
2001: Joe Ottavani, Bellomy Research
2002-2004: Al Paison, The Customer Loyalty Research Center, Retired
2005: Terry Grapentine, Grapentine Co., LLC
2006: Susan Adelman, Survey Service, Inc.
2007: John Kelly, Ceallaigh Associates
2008: Julie Williams, MaritzCX
2009: David Ashley, Department of Homeland Security
2010: Pat Crane, Eastman Kodak Company, Retired
2011: Charles “Chuck” Dodson, WILD Flavors, Inc.
2012: John Lewington, Ph.D., Maryville University
2013: Charlotte E. Sibley, Sibley Associates
2014: Barry Watson, Environics
2015: Wayne McCullough, University of Michigan
2016: Lisa Courtade, Merck & Co.
2017: Jon Last, Sports & Leisure Research Group